Connect with us


Premier League winners: Full list of previous champions of English football’s top flight by year



The 2024 Premier League title race went down to the final day, but Manchester City prevailed again to win a fourth successive crown.

Pep Guardiola’s side beat West Ham 3-1 to win a sixth league title in eight years with challengers Arsenal – who were seeking a first crown since their ‘Invincibles’ season under Arsene Wenger in 2003/04 – falling two points short despite a 2-1 win against Everton.

Seven sides have won the Premier League since England’s top flight, the old First Division, was rebranded in 1992. Here’s every previous Premier League champion in the competition’s history, plus all you need to know about the trophy – and who gets a medal…

Who were the first Premier League winners?

Steve Bruce celebrates his second goal for Manchester United which gave them a 2-1 win over Sheffield Wednesday and the Premier League title in 1993

Manchester United were the inaugural Premier League champions in 1992/93, ending a 26-year wait for a top-flight crown.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s side finished 10 points clear of Aston Villa to win the first title, with Norwich City two points further back. Blackburn Rovers and QPR made up the top five.

United seized the momentum after a memorable game against Sheffield Wednesday on April 10, 1993, when centre-back Steve Bruce scored two late goals – including the winner in the seventh minute added on – and the concept of ‘Fergie Time’ was born.

That dramatic show was part of a seven-match winning streak as United stormed to glory and sealed it at Old Trafford with a 3-1 win over Blackburn.

How is Premier League title decided?

If any clubs finish with the same number of points, their position in the Premier League table is first determined by goal difference.

It then comes down to the number of goals scored.

If sides still can’t be separated, the team who collected the most points in the head-to-head matches, then who scored most away goals in the head-to-head are the deciding factors.

Who has won the most Premier League titles?

That 1992/93 triumph ushered in an unprecedented era of Manchester United success under Ferguson, with the club dominant domestically during the 1990s and 2000s.

Manchester United have had the most Premier League success with 13 titles to their name and their last came in 2012/13 – Ferguson’s final campaign in charge.

Since the League began in 1992, there have been seven different winners in total, with Manchester United joined by Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester City, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City and Liverpool.

Sir Alex Ferguson led Manchester United to 13 Premier League titles
Sir Alex Ferguson led Manchester United to 13 Premier League titles

Most Premier League titles

13: Manchester United

8: Manchester City

5: Chelsea

3: Arsenal

1: Liverpool, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City

What do the Premier League winners get?

The champions get to lift the Premier League trophy, which the Premier League says is based on the “three lions of English football”. Two of the lions are displayed above the handles on either side, with the captain of the winning team “becoming the third lion when he raises the trophy and its gold crown above his head”.

The Premier League trophy weighs 4st
The Premier League trophy weighs 4st

The trophy stands 104cm tall and weights 4st.

There are actually two identical trophies; one stays with the Premier League champions until three weeks before their final match of the current season, while the other is used by the Premier League for events and promotional purposes.

Who gets a Premier League medal?

The champions also get 40 commemorative medals, made of silver.

According to Premier League rules, they can be given to the manager, players and officials as the winning club sees fit, provided every player who has made at least five Premier League appearances during the title-winning season gets one.

Additional medals may only be presented with the consent of the Premier League board.

Premier League champions – list of winners by year

2023/24: Manchester City

2022/23: Manchester City

2021/22: Manchester City

2020/21: Manchester City

2019/20: Liverpool

2018/19: Manchester City

2017/18: Manchester City

2016/17: Chelsea

2015/16: Leicester City

2014/15: Chelsea

2013/14: Manchester City

2012/13: Manchester United

2011/12: Manchester City

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

REWIND! Manchester City clinched the title in dramatic fashion with victory over Queens Park Rangers on the last day of the season in 2012

2010/11: Manchester United

2009/10: Chelsea

2008/09: Manchester United

2007/08: Manchester United

2006/07: Manchester United

2005/06: Chelsea

2004/05: Chelsea

2003/04: Arsenal

2002/03: Manchester United

2001/02: Arsenal

2000/01: Manchester United

1999/00: Manchester United

1998/99: Manchester United

1997/98: Arsenal

1996/97: Manchester United

1995/96: Manchester United

1994/95: Blackburn Rovers

1993/94: Manchester United

1992/93: Manchester United

Live Premier League on Sky Sports in 2024/25

Sky Sports will show 128 games exclusively live in the 2024/25 season – and a brand new agreement between Sky Sports and the Premier League means even more live matches from 2025/26.

From 2025, Sky Sports will broadcast a record minimum of 215 Premier League matches a season after finalising a new four-year agreement.

Throughout the 2024/25 season, you can watch Premier League match highlights for free – without being a Sky Sports subscriber.

You’ll find highlights from every Premier League game in the Score Centre, as well as on the Sky Sports website and Sky Sports app shortly after full-time, or from 5.15pm for midday Saturday kick-offs. You can also watch them on the Sky Sports Football YouTube channel.

You can stream Sky Sports live with no contract on a Month or Day membership on NOW – find out more about instant access to live action from the Premier League, EFL, F1, England cricket and much more.

Sky Sports+ – more sport, launching in August!

Sky Sports+ will give more choice to sports fans via live streams and a new dedicated channel, at no extra cost.

Launching this August, Sky Sports+ will be transformational in the amount of choice sports fans will have access to via live streams on Sky TV, streaming service NOW and the improved Sky Sports App on mobile.

With more coverage than ever before from the EFL, both tennis Tours and men’s Super League, Sky Sports customers can enjoy more than 50% more live sport this year.

Continue Reading